Info Flash N°17

February 2015


Nos Amis Les Animaux 85480 is a registered association (W852002671/SIRET 538 773 193 00015) for the protection of animals. Often called simply NALA we have members of many nationalities but mainly English and French.

We were set up in September 2010 and since then have placed about 215 animals, mainly cats, with loving, new owners. We have obtained the French equivalent of charitable status so that donations are tax-deductible.


Top stories for this month:

  • Bearing fruit?
  • The beginning of the end of the beginning...
  • A little Hello from our Adoptees
  • Bedwarmers Looking For a Good Home
  • Program NALA 2015
  • Come and join Nala; together we are stronger!

Bearing Fruit?

It's been clear to us for a long while that we could spend the rest of our lives saving pets, but the overall problem would still remain. As long as people abandon their pets and stray animals reproduce, there will be a need for associations to rehome them. Way back in 2012 we wrote to the Minister of Agriculture expressing our concerns and asking what he was planning to do about it. The reply was pretty meaningless. So we embarked on a few more rounds of exchanges with similar results. Finally in December 2014 things started to look up:

- Mr. Martial Saddier, a member of the the National Assembly who we had contacted, asked the Minister one of our questions... and also got a typically bland reply.

- we received an invitation to meet with Mrs. Sylviane Bulteau, a member of the National Assembly and the Conseil General of the Vendee. We met her on the 5th of January 2015 and had the opportunity to bend her ear for an hour. She was totally unaware of the problem of stray animals, so listened with apparent interest as we explained. 

The very next day a letter, sent just before the New Year, arrived from the Ministry of Agriculture inviting us to contact them to arrange a meeting with the Office for the Protection of Animals. That wasn't too bad... only just over two years from our first letter.

So on the 9th of February we left the car in the car park of a shopping mall on the outskirts of Paris and took the RER and Metro to the Ministry. There we were welcomed by two members of the department. We were of the opinion that the only contact that they have with the associations for the protection of animals is via the big associations and then only the desk jockeys. They confirmed this, so we explained the day to day reality that we have experienced: phone calls at all hours from people demanding immediate help, mayors that ignore the rules, the difficulty of working with volunteers who can disappear at the drop of a hat, fund-raising etc.

We pointed out that it was unfair that the mayors and animal pounds got paid for dealing with stray animals whilst the only organisations that could save the animals from life (or death) in the pounds were the voluntary associations who don't get paid.


We explained the difficulties that we had encountered in just trying to find out the number of strays in the Vendée. We were not surprised to hear that they don't have, nor ask for, the statistics. We suggested that from now on they ask for the numbers to be sent at the same time as the Departments send in their annual report. We'll have to see if that happens, as we know that it's easier to ignore a problem if it's not been measured.

We also talked about the situation in other countries and their solutions such as obligatory sterilisation when animals change owner and having a Minister responsible for the well-being of animals. We have a suspicion that these ideas may run foul of the "Not Invented Here" effect.

Finally we suggested that they carry out an information campaign to remind people of the obligation to have their pet identified and the benefits of having them sterilised. We gave them short shrift when they suggested that the associations could do this: we're already cleaning up the mess and don't get paid for it. Why should we also pay for the prevention, whilst the government sits back and does nothing?

We think that the meeting went well: they listened and took a lot of notes and didn't kick us out when we ran over the time that they had allotted to us. We'll have to see if anything concrete comes out of it.

The Beginning of the End of the Beginning...


...Or something like that. Nearly 4 years ago we had a meeting with the DDPP (Direction Departmentale de la Protection des Populations) who used to be known of the Department for Veterinary Services. In the course of this meeting we asked them for statistics on the number of stray animals in the Vendée and what happened to them. They replied that no figures were available, so we left it at that.

Over the course of the next couple of years we learnt that every town should have or have access to a pound for stray animals and that every manager of a pound has to have a register which shows what happened to the animals. When we added to this the discovery of the French Freedom of Information (FOI) law which dates back to 1978, we came to the conclusion that we could find out the statistics ourself by asking every town to provide us with a copy of their register from 2002. So we did this in October 2013.

The results were surprising: the vast majority of the 282 towns in the Vendée didn't reply. So we sent a reminder a couple of weeks later. Again replies were conspicuous by their absence. Finally after another month or so we informed the holdouts that, because of time limits, we would have to ask the Commission for the Access to Administrative Documents (CADA) to make a ruling. We included a copy of a precedent that was in our favour and subsequently received some more copies of the registers.


We sent our complaint to the CADA and waited... and waited and waited. Normally the CADA gives an opinion within two months, but in our case it took about six. This was because they had contacted the town halls to explain what was expected of them and to give them a chance to point out any potential difficulties with complying. One article of the FOI law states that if the body that is asked for documents doesn't possess the documents it should pass on the request to the correct body and inform the person making the request.

Most French towns belong to a Community of Communes (comcom) which share an animal pound or subcontract the task of dealing with stray animals to a private animal pound. It was amazing to see how many of the towns told the CADA that they couldn't reply to our request as, because of this, they didn't have a register... but didn't tell us. There were also a number of towns who sent some of the documents that we asked for to the CADA... but not to us.

In June 2013 the CADA gave a favourable opinion to our request, so we sat back and waited for the copies to roll in. We're still waiting...

To cut a long story short, by the end of 2014 we had received the statistics from 2002 onwards from, wait for it, 31 out of the 282 towns. Another 67 provided statistics for some years and four towns and two comcoms said that we could consult the registers in person. Seven towns don't have access to an animal pound and 66 don't have a register. We have heard absolutely nothing from 71 of the towns. The private animal pounds, who at the moment serve nearly two thirds of the towns have not replied although one did send the figures for 2013... ( eyes roll) to the CADA.

Notwithstanding this less than exemplary reaction to our request, we decided to look at the figures from the towns that fully complied. Because of the limited sample, the results are not conclusive: are we only looking at the best towns, because they obeyed the FOI request? .

Our preliminary conclusion is that the situation for dogs is improving with nowadays about 60-70% being reunited with their owner. This is probably due to them being identified. The situation for cats is not so good. Until 2008, there were less than 10/year mentioned in the registers mostly found dead on the public road, nowadays there are 50 or more, but the majority are put down. This is probably because few owners have their cats identified.


You can see more details in french  here

A little Hello from our Adoptees


and a little video of Roméo 

Bedwarmers Looking For a Good Home


For more information please look here

Program NALA 2015

Every last Friday of the month 

* NALA book afternoon at Sue and Stuart's home in Cheffois, 

Address : 12 Rue du bourg Chasteigner, Cheffois. 

Tel.:  02 51 51 00 96

Our books are as always priced at 1 Euro or less and all proceeds go to help animals in need

Every First Wednesday of each month

 * NALA Team Quiz In St Vincent Sterlanges

at the Auberge le St Vincent, 1, place de la Mairie, St Vincent Sterlanges. 

Maximum of 6 per team,   2.50 per person. It starts at 8 PM. Fish and Chips etc available from the Vendée Chippie from 6 PM.

... and every second Thursday of each month

 * NALA Team Quiz In Mouilleron en Pareds 

at the recently reopened bar, Le Clemenceau, in Mouilleron en Pareds. Start time will be 7.30pm max number per team 6, and fee of €3 per person. 

If you have not tried the quiz or the bar why not give it a go.



 Come and join Nala; together we are stronger!


   
 photo lunapic_136775552142051_12.gif

For those of you who haven't yet renewed their membership, please fill in the form here

Or if you want to call us first for information: Tel nr. 07 70 31 54 59 or email nala85480@hotmail.com




© NALA 85480, February 2015, Bournezeau 
Tél.  07 70 31 54 59
Mail nala85480@hotmail.com 
Nala Bournezeau sur facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002135097263
Le site: www.nosamislesanimaux.com

Make a Free Website with Yola.

The English readers can read the English Infoflash here

 


Info Flash N° 17

Février 2015


Nos Amis Les Animaux 85480 est une association , LOI 1901 (W852002671/SIRET 538 773 193 00015) de protection animale. Souvent simplement dénommée NALA, nous comptons des membres de nationalités différentes mais principalement des anglais et des français. Nous avons le satut d'association d'intérêt général qui permet de déduire les dons des impôts. 




À la une de cet infoflash:


  • Nos espérances vont-elles se concrétiser ?
  • Le Début de la Fin du Début...
  • Un petit coucou des adoptés
  • Des Chauffe-lits cherchent une bonne maison
  • Programme 2015
  • Adhérez pour unir nos forces!

Nos Espérances Vont-elles Se Concrétiser ?


Depuis longtemps, nous nous rendons compte que l’on peut passer sa vie à sauver des animaux domestiques sans pour autant résoudre le problème fondamental. Tant que des gens abandonnent leurs animaux, il y aura besoin d’associations pour les sauver d'une vie d’errance et de prolifération effrénée. Il y a longtemps déjà, en 2012, nous avons écrit au Ministre de l’Agriculture pour exprimer nos inquiétudes et pour demander ce qu’il comptait faire pour améliorer la situation. La réponse ne signifiait pas grand-chose. Nous avons envoyé plusieurs d’autres balles dans leur court sans résultat.  Mais enfin, à partir de décembre 2014, il y a eu des changements prometteurs:

- M. Martial Saddier, membre de l’Assemblée Nationale, que nous avions contacté, a posé une de nos questions au Ministre…. Et a reçu lui aussi une réponse évasive.

- Nous avons été invités à prendre rendez-vous avec Mme Sylviane Bulteau, membre de l’Assemblée Nationale et du Conseil Général de la Vendée. Nous l’avons rencontrée le 5 janvier 2015 et nous avons pu bénéficier de son écoute pendant une heure. Il se trouve qu'elle n'avait pas du tout été au courant d’un problème d’animaux errants et elle nous a donné l’impression de prêter beaucoup d’attention à ce que nous avions à dire. Lire plus ici

Le lendemain même une lettre, envoyée juste avant le Nouvel An, est arrivée du Ministère de l’Agriculture. On nous invitait à les contacter pour prendre rendez-vous avec le Service de Protection des Animaux. Pas trop mal... seulement un peu plus de deux ans après notre lettre initiale.

Alors, le 9 février nous avons laissé la voiture sur le parking d’un centre commercial en périphérie de Paris et avons pris le RER et le métro jusqu’au Ministère où nous avons été accueillis par deux membres du département. Nous pensions que le seul contact qu’ils avaient eu jusque là avec des associations de protection des animaux était par le biais d’employés de bureau. Quand ils ont confirmé cette idée, nous leur avons décrit la réalité journalière de notre expérience: appels téléphoniques à n’importe quelle heure de gens qui demandent de l’aide immédiate, des maires qui ignorent les règles, la difficulté de travailler avec des bénévoles qui disparaissent en un tour de main, les contraintes d’organiser des événements pour faire des fonds, etc.

Nous avons signalé l’injustice que les maires et les fourrières sont payés pour s’occuper des animaux errants tandis que les seules organisations capables de sauver les animaux d’une vie (ou la mort) en fourrière sont des organisations bénévoles qui ne reçoivent pas du tout de rémunération.

Nous avons expliqué les difficultés que nous avons rencontrées pour essayer simplement de savoir le nombre d’animaux errants en Vendée. Nous n’étions pas surpris d’apprendre qu’ils n’ont pas de statistiques et qu’ils ne demandent pas à en avoir. Nous avons suggéré que dorénavant ils devraient demander aux départements de leur fournir ces chiffres en même temps que de soumettre leur rapport annuel. À voir si cela arrivera. Il est plus facile d’ignorer l’existence d’un problème dont l’ampleur n’a pas été mesurée.

Nous avons aussi discuté de la situation dans d’autres pays et de leurs solutions, telles que la stérilisation obligatoire quand un animal change de propriétaire et la création d’un poste de Ministre chargé du bien-être des animaux. Nous soupçonnons que ces idées seront étouffées à cause du syndrome de «pas de notre invention ».

Finalement, nous avons suggéré qu’ils mènent une campagne pour rappeler aux gens l’obligation de faire identifier leur animal de compagnie et les avantages de la stérilisation. Nous avons vite fait de balayer leur proposition que les associations pourraient se charger d’une telle campagne : nous sommes déjà en train de ramasser les pots cassés sans rémunération. C’est trop demander que nous payions aussi la prévention tandis que le gouvernement prend ses aises et ne fait rien !

Nous croyons que le rendez-vous s’est bien passé: ils nous ont écoutés, ils ont pris beaucoup de notes et ne nous ont pas envoyé balader quand nous avons dépassé le temps qu’on nous avait accordé. À voir s’il en sortira quelque chose de concret.

Le Début de la Fin du Début...


  ...Ou quelque chose de la sorte. Il y a presque 4 ans, nous avons eu un rendez-vous avec la DDPP (Direction Départementale de la Protection des Populations) autrefois connue sous la nomenclature Département des Services Vétérinaires. Au cours de cette réunion nous leur avons demandé de nous fournir les statistiques pour le nombre d’animaux errants en Vendée et ce qu’il leur est advenu. Ils ont répondu qu’il n’y avait pas de chiffres disponibles, alors nous avons laissé tomber.

Pendant les deux années suivantes nous avons appris que chaque ville doit avoir, ou avoir accès à, une fourrière pour animaux errants et que chaque gérant  d’une fourrière doit tenir un registre qui montre le devenir des animaux. Rajoutant à ceci notre découverte de la loi de la liberté d'accès aux documents administratifs (FOI) datant de 1978, nous avons conclu que nous pourrions recueillir nous-mêmes les statistiques par moyen de demander à chaque ville de nous fournir une copie de leur registre à partir de l’année 2002. Nous avons donc fait notre demande en octobre 2013.

Les résultats étaient surprenants: la plupart des 282 villes de la Vendée n’ont pas répondu. Alors, deux semaines plus tard nous avons lancé un rappel. Encore une fois les réponses ont brillés par leur absence. Finalement, après encore un ou deux mois, nous avons informé les récalcitrants que, à cause de la limite de temps, nous serions obligés de demander à la Commission d’Accès aux Documents Administratifs (CADA) de rendre une décision. Nous y avons joint une copie d’un précédent en notre faveur et suite à cela nous avons reçu quelques copies de registres de plus. 

Nous avons envoyé nos plaintes à la CADA et nous avons attendu…. et attendu……et encore attendu. D’habitude la CADA donne son avis en deux mois, mais dans notre cas elle a mis environ 6 mois.  Ce délai est parce qu’elle a contacté les mairies pour expliquer ce qu’on attendait d’elles et pour leur donner l’occasion de signaler des difficultés potentielles de se conformer. Un article de la loi de liberté d’accès aux documents administratifs dit que si l’organisme à qui on demande de fournir des documents ne les possèdent pas il devrait faire suivre la requête à l’organisme qui les détient et en informer la personne qui a fait la requête.

La plupart des villes françaises appartiennent à une Communauté de Communes (comcom) qui partage une fourrière ou qui soustraite à une fourrière privée la tâche de s’occuper d’animaux errants. C’était époustouflant de voir combien de villes ont informé la CADA qu’elles ne pouvaient pas se conformer à notre requête parce qu’elles n’avaient pas de registre à cause de cette sous-traitance mais qui ont omis de nous en informer.  Certaines villes aussi ont envoyé à la CADA quelques-uns des documents que nous avions demandés, mais n’ont rien envoyé à nous.

En juin 2013, la CADA a donné un avis favorable à notre requête, alors nous avons attendu patiemment, mais en vain, l’afflux des copies. Nous sommes toujours en attente….

En bref, retenez votre souffle…. à la fin de 2014 nous avions reçu les statistiques à partir de 2002 de la part de 31 sur les 282 villes. 67 de plus nous ont fourni des statistiques pour quelques-unes des années et quatre villes et deux comcoms nous ont dit que nous pouvons consulter les registres en personne. Sept villes n’ont pas accès à une fourrière et 66 n’ont pas de registre. 71 des villes ne nous ont pas du tout donné suite. Les fourrières privées, qui en ce moment desservent presque deux tiers des villes, n’ont pas répondu, quoi que l’une d’elle a envoyé les chiffres pour l’année 2013, mais à la CADA, non pas à nous….

Malgré cette réaction loin d’être exemplaire à notre requête, nous avons décidé d’examiner les chiffres des villes qui se sont entièrement conformés. Vu que l’échantillon est très limité, les résultats ne sont pas concluants : nos conclusions sont-elles basées sur seulement les meilleures villes, parce que ce sont celles qui ont obéi à la loi de la liberté d’accès aux documents? 

Notre conclusion préliminaire est que la situation pour les chiens s’améliore avec environ 60-70% de chiens étant réunis avec leur propriétaire. C’est probablement parce qu’ils sont identifiés. La situation est moins favorable pour les chats. Jusqu’à 2008, il y avait moins de 10 par an mentionnés dans les registres, dont la plupart avait été trouvés morts sur la route. Maintenant il y en a 50 ou plus, mais dont la plupart sont euthanasiées, probablement parce que peu de propriétaires font identifier leurs chats.

Vous pouvez trouver plus de détails ici 

Un Petit Coucou Des Adoptés 

et une petite vidéo de Roméo 

Des Chauffe-lits cherchent une bonne maison


Pour plus de renseignements veuillez voir  ici

Programme NALA 2015

Samedi  28 Mars 

* Team Quiz en Français

Le team quiz commence à 19.30 heures, et aura lieu au Bar Le Clémenceau, 26 Rue Clémenceau, Mouilleron en Pareds. 

Maximum de 6 personne par groupe. Participation pour le quiz est  € 3 par personne. Tapas et boissons au bar


 Adhérez pour unir nos forces!


   
 photo lunapic_136775552142051_12.gif

Pour ceux qui n'ont pas encore renouvelé leur adhésion, vous pouvez le faire ici

Ensemble nous pourrions faire encore plus pour les animaux. Pour plus d'information, n'hésitez pas à nous appeler 07 70 31 54 59 ou à nous écrire nala85480@hotmail.com




© NALA 85480, Février 2015, Bournezeau 
Tél.  07 70 31 54 59
Mail nala85480@hotmail.com 
Nala Bournezeau sur facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002135097263
Le site: www.nosamislesanimaux.com
 
Make a Free Website with Yola.