Info Flash N° 15

October 2014


Nos Amis Les Animaux 85480 is a registered association (W852002671/SIRET 538 773 193 00015) for the protection of animals. Often called simply NALA we have members of many nationalities but mainly English and French.

We were set up in September 2010 and since then have placed about 215 animals, mainly cats, with loving, new owners. We have obtained the French equivalent of charitable status so that donations are tax-deductible.


Top stories for this month :

  • Change of course NALA 85480
  • Catkiller in Bournezeau
  • Eyes wide open
  • A little hello from our adoptees
  • Pictorial visit of the NALA Summer Fair
  • Programme 2014
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Change Of Course NALA 85480


On the 10th of September 2014, Nala 85480 (Nala for short) celebrated its 4th birthday. Nala was founded at the request of a mayor to save a dog from euthanasia and to put him up for adoption.
Since then, to date the association has successfully placed 215 animals (mainly cats, a few dogs, two sheep, a rabbit, some birds and a chicken) into loving and responsible homes. In doing so we have learned a lot about the system of how to deal with stray animals in France, the legislation, the way this legislation is respected, or rather not respected, the importance of identification and sterilisation…. We are convinced that in order to help animals in the long term it is better to work on preventative measures, but the practical work of saving animals takes so much time and energy that we never get enough time to work on prevention. Nala's 4th birthday was an occasion to change course and make some changes. For this and many more other reasons we have decided to stop the animal adoption side of Nala and to continue mainly with:
  • giving advice to people to enable them to keep their pets (healthy and safe)
  • our subsidies program for the sterilisation and identification of cats
  • giving financial help to people with little money for sterilisation, identification or in case of an expensive operation for their cat ….
  • handing in complaints for the mistreatment of (stray) animals
  • helping people to prepare and hand in their own complaints if their animal has been mistreated/killed by someone
  • report cases of mistreatment to the authorities/bigger associations
  • public affairs (e.g. letters to mayors, the “préfecture”, “conseil general”, ministry, Parliament, European Union) / lobby to improve the system for dealing with stray animals in France
  • collection of statistics of found animals in the Vendée (registers)
  • the enquiry into the disappearance of cats in certain area's
  • the project of obligatory sterilisation of cats in France (example Belgium)
  • information and campaigns to propagate awareness of the need for sterilisation and identification
  • any other issues/developments that are brought to our attention and that we feel require us to take action (demonstrations/petitions...)
Please note!
We often receive phone calls from the whole of the Vendée and the neighbouring departments from people who have found a stray animal and want us to take care of it for them. We can't do that: the code rural is quite clear and states that the mayor is responsible for all stray animals. Some people are reluctant to take an animal to the mayor because they are afraid that it will not be well treated or may even be put down. That is, of course, illegal as domestic animals are protected under French law and anyone who kills or harms a domestic animal risks prosecution. We suggest to those people who have doubts to tell us when they take the animal to the Town Hall and we, along with the DDPP (Direction Départementale de la Protection des Populations), will monitor the situation.

___________________________________________________________________________________________
Catkiller In Bournezeau



Imbala, Beko and 3 more at the least have been targeted with bullets in Bournezeau.... 

When NALA was first founded, one of our major worries was the disappearance of 12 cats in Bournezeau over a very short period. We informed the town hall and the police. In spite of traces having been left, no-one was able to identify the killer. For a while peace reigned, until  the 13 th of September, when we received an email from a member of NALA 85480 informing us that their one year old cat, Imbala, had been shot  Thursday 11/09/2014 in broad daylight near the town centre of Bournezeau.

Early in the afternoon, their neighbour had found Imbala in his garden, paralysed at the rear end and screaming in agony. She was rushed to the vet. When the vet shaved her back to see the wound, he discovered a nice, round hole! X-rays provided the proof: the cat had a bullet in its spine. Imbala is now back home after a major operation in Nantes. She is slowly recovering.

Obviously, Impala’s family has lodged a formal complaint at the police station. Unfortunately, it is not an isolated case of a cat being injured recently in Bournezeau. About 10 days previously, according to the vet, another cat had been shot in the commune. Moreover, Beko, the neighbour’s cat, which had disappeared for a few days, was found limping and very thin. The veterinary surgeon found a bullet lodged in the abdomen.
According to an article in Ouest France there are 3 more cats who have been aimed to be shot at the least: http://www.ouest-france.fr/fait-divers-bournezeau-des-chats-vises-par-des-tirs-larme-de-poing-2836918

The police force has begun an inquest, the Town Hall has been informed and the family has put up notices in the town so that everyone is aware of the stupidity of the human race, even more so when someone is shooting at cats right in the town centre, putting everyone at risk.

The association Nala 85480 has decided that it too will send a complaint to the public prosecutor for Imbala and Beko and, with other animal protection associations, we are planning a march on 25 October in the centre of Bournezeau in memory of the many cats lost, killed, trapped, shot and poisoned in Bournezeau and throughout the Vendée. 

If you too have lost your pet (cat or dog) in Bournezeau, or if you have any information relevant to this case, please send us an email to nala85480@hotmail.com. 

An event has been created on facebook. Any news on this case will be published there: 

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Eyes Wide Open


We've been running NALA for just over 4 years now and it's been an enlightening experience. It's certainly taught us a lot and brought us into contact with many interesting people. It's also given us a couple of "What the heck?" and shake head in disbelief moments.

One such moment was the discovery that torturing and mistreating animals is a crime... except when it's a tradition. It's perhaps hard to believe but in the 21st Century and in a west European country, bull fighting and cock fighting can still legally take place in France if there is an uninterrupted tradition. What is even more amazing is that cock fighting was banned in France from 1850 and then permitted again in 1966. It's hard to imagine a more striking example of progress being reversed. (if you want to know more about cockfighting in France you can look here where you can also sign the petition: Stop Cockfighting in France) 

The relevant law is article 521-1 of the penal code and there have been a number of attempts to get it modified as the vast majority of French people disapprove of these "entertainments". They have so far come to naught, probably because there is a lot of money at stake. Surprisingly, it's not the income from the bull fights themselves: attendances at the arenas are falling and most events require a subsidy from the public purse at town, regional and even European level.

Although bull fighting is illegal in 24 of the EU member states, the three countries where it is legal receive subsidies from the European Union. Hard figures are difficult to come by, but breeders of bulls for bullfights in Spain are estimated to receive nearly 130 million/year as farm subsidies. However, in early September the Environment Public Health and Food Safety Committee of the European Parliament voted to end subsidies for the raising and training of bulls for bull fights. As I write this, the proposal still has to be passed by the plenary session of the European Parliament.

As well as action at the highest political levels, there are also local protests. What is quite shocking is the level of violence... from the supporters of bull fighting and the police. To see what I mean, Google Rassemblement anti corrida arène rodilhan 08.10.11 and Action Anti-Corrida à Maubourguet on Vimeo. It's interesting that whereas we speak of the forces of law and order, the corresponding French expression is the forces of order. It seems to make a difference!!!

And talking of order... we have a number of cute lap and bed warmers available just in time for the wet and miserable season. One particularly fine example is Coco, a beautiful and very cuddly female cat with semi-long hair. Coco is 4 and a half years old and fostered in the commune of Les Essarts. 
For information on how to adopt Coco please call 06 52 60 08 84 or send an e-mail to nala85480@hotmail.com 



Coco

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The Other Bedwarmers Looking For a Good Home



for more information please have a look on the page  animaux à adopter


___________________________________________________________________________________________

A Little Hello From Our Adoptees

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Pictorial Visit of the NALA Summer Fair 



You'll find other pictures on the page Fête d'été 2014


_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Programme NALA 2014

Saturday 25 October 

* Demonstration "Stop the Killing", 3 PM Place de la Mairie at Bournezeau

Saturday 25 October

Pub Quiz in French

starts at 7.30 PM, Bar Le Clémenceau, 26 Rue Clémenceau, Mouilleron en Pareds. 

Maximum of 6 persons per group. Participation   € 2.50 per person. Tapas and drinks available ate the bar.  

Saturday 6 December 

* Nala will have a Stand at the X-mas fair at Beaulieu sous la Roche

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Come and join Nala; together we are stronger!

   
 photo lunapic_136775552142051_12.gif

For those of you who haven't yet renewed their membership, please fill in the form here

Or if you want to call us first for information: Tel nr. 07 70 31 54 59 or email nala85480@hotmail.com




© NALA 85480, October 2014, Bournezeau 
Tél.  07 70 31 54 59
Mail nala85480@hotmail.com 
Nala Bournezeau sur facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002135097263
Le site: www.nosamislesanimaux.com


Make a Free Website with Yola.

The English readers can read the English Infoflash here  

 


Info Flash N° 15

Octobre 2014


Nos Amis Les Animaux 85480 est une association , LOI 1901 (W852002671/SIRET 538 773 193 00015) de protection animale. Souvent simplement dénommée NALA, nous comptons des membres de nationalités différentes mais principalement des anglais et des français. Nous avons le satut d'association d'intérêt général qui permet de déduire les dons des impôts. 




A la une de cet infoflash:

  • Changement de cap NALA 85480 

  • Tueur de chats à Bournezeau

  • Les yeux grands-ouverts

  • Un petit coucou des adoptés

  • Visite en images de notre fête d'été

  • Programme 2014

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Changement de cap NALA 85480


Le 10 septembre 2014, Nala 85480 (diminutif Nala) a célébré son 4ième anniversaire. Nala fut créée à la demande d’un maire pour sauver un chien de l’euthanasie et pour le mettre à l’adoption.
Depuis lors, l’association a réussi à placer 215 animaux (principalement des chats, quelques chiens, deux moutons, un lapin, plusieurs oiseaux et une poule) dans des foyers aimants et responsables. En ce faisant nous avons appris pas mal de choses au sujet de la façon dont le système français gère les animaux errants, la législation, comment la législation est respectée – ou plutôt n’est pas respectée – l’importance de l’identification et de la stérilisation…. Nous sommes convaincus que pour aider les animaux à long terme il vaut mieux se concentrer sur des mesures préventives. Cependant, le côté pratique de sauvetage d’animaux prend tellement de temps et d’énergie que nous n’avons jamais assez de temps pour travailler sur la prévention. L’anniversaire des 4 années de NALA fut l’occasion de changer de cap et de faire quelques changements. C’est ainsi, et pour beaucoup d’autres raisons, que nous avons décidé d’arrêter le côté adoptions d’animaux et de continuer principalement avec les choses suivantes:
  • Donner des conseils pour aider les gens à garder leur animal de compagnie (en sécurité et en bonne santé)
  • Notre programme de subventions pour l’identification et la stérilisation de chats
  • Donner de l’aide financière pour aider les gens aux petits moyens de faire stériliser et identifier leurs chats ou à payer une opération coûteuse pour leur chat.
  • Porter plainte en cas de maltraitance d’animaux errants
  • Aider les gens à préparer et à déposer leur propre plainte si leur animal a été maltraité ou tué par quelqu’un
  • Faire connaître des cas de maltraitance aux autorités ou à de plus importantes associations
  • Traiter des affaires publiques (ex. lettres aux maires, à la préfecture, au conseil général, au ministère, au Parlement, à l’Union Européenne) et lutter pour l’amélioration du système pour gérer les animaux errants en France
  • Rassembler les statistiques d’animaux trouvés en Vendée (registres)
  • Enquêter sur la disparition de chats dans certains quartiers et communes
  • Soutenir le projet de stérilisation obligatoire de chats en France (La Belgique en étant l’exemple)
  • Informer et mener des campagnes pour sensibiliser les habitants du département à la nécessité de faire stériliser et identifier leurs animaux
  • D’autres issus ou développements qui attirent notre attention et que nous croyons nécessiter des actions telles que manifestations et pétitions.
Nota Bene!
Nous recevons souvent des appels téléphoniques de partout en Vendée et des départements avoisinants de gens qui ont trouvé un animal errant et nous demandent de le prendre en charge. Nous n’avons pas le droit de le faire. Le code rural est clair et dicte que le maire est seul responsable des animaux errants. Quelques fois les gens ne veulent pas confier un animal au maire parce qu’ils ont peur que l’animal ne sera pas bien soigné et sera même euthanasié. Ce serait, bien sûr, illégal car les animaux domestiques sont protégés par la loi française et quiconque tue ou fait du mal à un animal domestique risque d’être emmené en justice. A ces gens qui se doutent de la fiabilité des autorités locales, nous leur suggérons de nous dire quand ils emmènent un animal à la mairie et NALA, avec la DDPP (Direction Départementale de la Protection des Populations), surveillera et contrôlera la situation.

____________________________________________________________________________________________
Tueur De Chats à Bournezeau

Imbala, Beko et au moins trois autres chats ont été la cible de tirs à l'arme à Bournezeau..... 

Quand NALA fut créée, un de nos soucis majeurs était la disparition de 12 chats à Bournezeau pendant une très courte période. Nous avons signalé les disparitions au maire et à la gendarmerie. Malgré des traces, personne n’a trouvé l’identité du tueur de ces chats. Pendant un certain temps la tranquillité a régné, jusqu’à samedi le 13 septembre quand nous avons eu un mail d'une adhérente de Nala 85480 pour nous informer que son chat Imbala, âgé d’un an, s’était fait tirer dessus jeudi 11/09/2014 en plein jour près du centre bourg de Bournezeau .

En début d’après-midi son voisin l’avait trouvée dans son jardin. Imbala avait le train arrière paralysé et elle hurlait à la mort. Elle a été emmenée tout de suite chez le vétérinaire. Lorsque le vétérinaire lui a rasé le dos pour voir sa blessure il y a découvert un trou bien rond! Les radios ont donné la preuve : effectivement il y avait un plomb logé dans sa colonne vertébrale. Imbala est revenue à son domicile après avoir été opérée  à Nantes. Elle se rétablit très doucement. 

Bien sûr la famille d'Imbala a porté plainte à la Gendarmerie. Malheureusement ce n'est pas le seul cas d’un chat blessé dernièrement à Bournezeau. Environ 10 jours avant, selon le vétérinaire, un autre chat s’était déjà fait tirer dessus dans la commune. En plus, Beko, le chat des voisins, qui avait disparu pendant quelques jours, a été retrouvé amaigri et boitant. Le vétérinaire a découvert un plomb dans l’abdomen. Selon un article dans Ouest France il y a au moins 2 autres chats qui ont été la cible de tirs à l'arme.... 

La gendarmerie a commencé une enquête, la Mairie est informée et la famille a mis des affiches dans le bourg pour que chacun ait bien conscience de la bêtise humaine, d’autant plus que c'est en plein centre bourg que quelqu'un tire sur des chats en mettant tout le monde en danger.

Nala 85480 a commencé une enquête dans le bourg de Bournezeau et a décidé qu’elle aussi va déposer plainte auprès du procureur pour Imbala et Beko et, avec d’autres associations de protection des animaux, nous envisageons une marche le 25 octobre au centre de Bournezeau en mémoire des nombreux chats perdus, tués, piégés, fusillés et empoisonnés à Bournezeau et dans toute la Vendée. 

Si vous aussi vous avez perdu votre animal (chat ou chien) à Bournezeau ou si vous détenez des informations qui pourraient servir à élucider ce cas, veuillez nous envoyer un mail à enquete.bournezeau@mail.com.

Un événement a été crée pour la manifestation. Vous trouvez les nouvelles sur cette page: 


__________________________________________________________________________

Les Yeux Grands-Ouverts



Nous gérons NALA depuis maintenant un peu plus de 4 ans et cela a été une expérience révélatrice. Elle nous a beaucoup appris et nous a fait faire la connaissance de beaucoup de gens intéressants. Elle nous a aussi interloqués et rendus incrédules, par moments.

Un de ces moments fut la découverte que la torture et la maltraitance animale est un crime….sauf quand c’est une tradition !  Difficile à croire, mais au 21e siècle et dans un pays européen de l’ouest, la corrida et le combat de coqs sont encore légaux en France s’il y a une tradition ininterrompue. D’autant plus époustouflant est le fait que les combats de coqs ont été interdits en France à partir de 1850 et puis rendus de nouveau légitimes  en 1966. Il est difficile de concevoir un exemple plus frappant du progrès qui fait marche arrière. (Pour en savoir plus sur les combats de coqs en France regardez  ici   où vous pouvez aussi signer la pétition: Arrêtez les Combats de Coqs en France) 

La loi en question est l’article 521-1 du code pénal et il y a eu beaucoup d’efforts pour le faire modifier car la majorité des Français sont contre ces “divertissements”. Jusqu’ici, ces efforts n’ont pas porté leurs fruits, sans doute parce qu’il y a beaucoup d’argent en jeu. Cela peut surprendre, mais il ne s’agit pas du revenu des corridas elles-mêmes: le nombre de spectateurs est en diminution et la plupart des événements ont besoin d’une subvention d’argent public au niveau de la ville, de la région ou même de l’Europe.

Quoi que les corridas soient illégaux en 24 des états membres de l’UE, les trois pays où ils sont légaux reçoivent des subventions de l’Union Européenne.   Il est difficile d’obtenir des chiffres exacts, mais on estime que des éleveurs de taureaux pour les corridas en Espagne reçoivent presque 130 million d’Euros par an en subventions agricoles.  Pourtant, en début septembre, le Comité de l’Environnement, Santé publique et Sécurité alimentaire du Parlement européen a voté pour arrêter les subventions pour l’élevage et l’entraînement des taureaux pour les corridas. Au moment où j’écris, cette proposition de loi est toujours en attente d’être adoptée par le Parlement Européen lors de la session plénière.

Aussi bien que de l’action aux plus hauts niveaux politiques, il y a des manifestations locales. Ce qui choque, c’est le niveau de violence….des passionnés de la corrida et de la police. Pour voir ce que je veux dire, regardezGoogle Rassemblement anti corrida arène rodilhan 08.10.11 et Action Anti-Corrida à Maubourguet sur  « Vimeo ». Il est intéressant de noter que là où les Anglais parlent des forces de la loi et de l’ordre public, en France on ne parle que des forces de l’ordre.  La différence est parlante. C’est à qui commande.

A propos de commandes…..nous avons en stock, pour l’approche de la saison mouillée et maussade, plusieurs chauffe-lits très chouettes. Un modèle  particulièrement performant est Coco, une belle chatte très câline aux poils mi-longs. Elle a 4 ans et demi et elle est en famille d’accueil aux Essarts. Pour savoir comment adopter Coco, veuillez appeler le 06 52 60 08 84 où contacter l’association par mail à l’adresse nala85480@hotmail.com 


Coco

__________________________________________________________________________

Les Autres “ Chauffe-lits” à Adopter



pour plus de renseigements rendez-vous sur la page animaux à adopter

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Un Petit Coucou Des Adoptés

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Visite en Images de Notre Fête d'Eté



Vous trouvez autres photos sur la page Fête d'été 2014

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Programme NALA 2014


Samedi  25 Octobre 

* Manifestation "Halte au Massacre" à 15 heures, place de la Mairie à Bournezeau 


Samedi  25 Octobre 

* Team Quiz en Français

Le team quiz commence à 19.30 heures, et aura lieu au Bar Le Clémenceau, 26 Rue Clémenceau, Mouilleron en Pareds. 

Maximum de 6 personne par groupe. Participation pour le quiz est  € 2.50 par personne. Tapas et boissons au bar


Samedi 6 Décembre 

* Un stand au Marché Noël Beaulieu sous la Roche (plus d'infos plus tard)


_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Adhérez pour unir nos forces!


   
 photo lunapic_136775552142051_12.gif

Pour ceux qui n'ont pas encore renouvelé leur adhésion, vous pouvez le faire ici

Ensemble nous pourrions faire encore plus pour les animaux.

Pour plus d'information, n'hésitez pas à nous appeler 07 70 31 54 59 ou à nous écrire nala85480@hotmail.com



© NALA 85480, Octobre 2014, Bournezeau 
Tél.  07 70 31 54 59
Mail nala85480@hotmail.com 
Nala Bournezeau sur facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100002135097263
Le site: www.nosamislesanimaux.com